Title: Zeke (The Powers That Be #2)

Author: Harper Bentley

Release Date: March 31, 2015

Find on Goodreads

Zeke Powers should’ve come

with a warning label.

He was hot.

He was sexy.

And he was a bad boy through and through.

The things he said to me had me blushing and my toes curling.

But he was someone I totally didn’t need walking into my life, screwing up

the plans I’d made and turning my world upside down.

Although I’d been living a no-frills, no-fun existence, I felt it was necessary to

get where I was going. Keep your eye on the prize and all that.

But Zeke was determined to prove to me that what I desired

most—him—was just what I needed.

New adult. Not recommended for readers under 17.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo

Gable (The Powers That Be #1)

Released December 2014

Gable Powers had all the makings of

everything my father had ever warned me about: a reputation that was anything but

stellar, a dirty mouth that had me shivering at the things he uttered in my ear, and a

body (oh, God, that body) that was covered in tattoos, all of which added up to a

solid ten-point-oh on the bad-boy scale.

The first time I met him, I instantly loathed him.

The second time was even worse.

He was a jerk. He was an ass.

He had secrets.

He was nothing I thought I ever wanted.

So why couldn’t I resist him?

New adult. Not recommended for readers under 17.

Harper Bentley has taught high

school English for 22 years. Although she’s managed to maintain her sanity

regardless of her career choice, jumping into the world of publishing her own books

goes to show that she might be closer to the ledge than was previously thought.

 

After traveling the nation in her younger years as a military brat, having lived in

Alaska, Washington State and California, she now resides in Oklahoma with her

teenage daughter, two dogs and one cat, happily writing stories that she hopes her

readers will enjoy.

 

*****************************************************************

MY THOUGHTS–  3.5 out of 5  Everyone needs a Zeke in their life STARS

 

ZEKE by Harper Bentley

Zeke is part of a series but can be read as a standalone. I actually have not read any of the other books of this series. Ezekiel Powers, aka Zeke, is a quarter of the Powers brothers. Of course they are all drop dead gorgeous, built and sexy as all get out. Zeke had everything going for him- college scholarship with the possibility of going pro and never has any trouble with the ladies. He attempts to court Scarlett O’Rourke but his attempts are initially thwarted by the heroine who has no time for his shenanigans.

Scarlett has a dream and a path in life and having any type of relationship is just not in the works. So, when the handsome Zeke starts to pursue her, she shuts that down quick! I enjoyed his attempts at trying to get Scarlett to let him in but I didn’t love the plot of the story. I felt like the characters and the story lacked depth. I felt like if the main characters were more developed I would have gotten more into it.  Don’t get me wrong, Zeke was adorable and sweet but kinda clueless when it came to having a relationship.  And Scarlett for being a 24 year old woman was awfully clueless herself when it came to the opposite sex. I mean, it said she had previous relationships but I kinda felt like she lived in a box or something.

All in all it was a cute read but not something I would want to read again.

Happy Reading!!

