Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

crown_lies_release_blitz

Title: Crown of Lies
Series: Truth and Lies Duet #1
Author: Pepper Winters

crown_lies_live

“I met the boy I wanted. But then he vanished and a new man claimed me instead. My father approved, my colleagues congratulated, and behind closed doors, I was bedded by a stranger.”

 

******

Crown of Lies is NOW LIVE!

Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2kakDJB

Amazon UK: http://amzn.to/2kl3yi2

iBooks: http://apple.co/2kLTlfM

Nook: http://bit.ly/2kO1NqU

Kobo: http://bit.ly/2jPiFNJ

crown-of-lies-teaser-2

Blurb

“I met the man I wanted. But then he vanished, and a new man claimed me instead. My father approved, my colleagues congratulated, and behind closed doors, I was bedded by a stranger.”


Noelle Charlston lives a fairy-tale life: a doting father, a powerful job, and a future blessed with financial security.


However, two meetings with two men changes her happy existence forever. First, she meets the man who makes her heart sing. Three years later, she meets the man who makes her blood quiver.


Broken-hearted from a teenage romance, Noelle’s freedom is no longer hers. It belongs to the stranger her father believes is her perfect match. The stranger who pulls his lies over everyone he touches.
Including her.


Seduced and manipulated, Noelle gives into the mysterious Penn Everett. The lies he spins, the truth he hides, the mystery he weaves—it’s all enough to slowly erode the woman she is and turn her into something else.
Until her past collides with her present.
And it’s her turn to lie.


To everyone…including herself.

Belladonnasreview
Crown of Lies (Truth and Lies Duet, #1)Crown of Lies by Pepper Winters
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

3.5 Stars

Enigmatic Alpha Males. They’re my addiction. Wrap them up in a solid Dark story and I’m a goner. It’s what always has me reaching for a Pepper Winters book, that combination of Dark and EAM. This book delivers on the EAM with Penn Everett, but, for me, it wasn’t a Dark read. It had more of a New Adult feel. Not that it’s a bad thing, though. Just different.

The book opens by introducing us to Noelle Charlston, aka Elle. Spending all of her precious free time at her father’s corporation, Belle Elle (a high end department store chain), at 12 years old she starts learning the ropes so can take over the reigns. At 16, she quits high school to work full time with her father running the corporation. She’s the heir apparent and a very sheltered, wealthy child who longs to find out what it would be like to do what other kids her age do. So, on her 19th birthday, as a present to herself, she sneaks out to see how the other half lives… And finds out that wandering the streets of New York alone at night, isn’t always the safest thing to do. Thankfully, a hoodied Nameless teenager comes to her rescue and takes her on an adventure she will never forget.

Fast forward three years later and Elle is running Belle Elle in her own right — all while fending off her father’s matchmaking and pining over Nameless. Her father wants to see her married and settled; Sizing up every man he meets as a possible suitor for his daughter. When he meets Penn while out for dinner with Elle, he starts in. And Penn is all too happy to meet her…

The mystery of the delectable Penn — I mean GG he is yummy — and the chemistry between he and Elle kept me flipping the pages. I needed to have all of his answers. And while, in the end, my theories were right, I had so much fun second guessing myself about his true intentions.

Elle, I had a little trouble with. I liked her as a character and her back story was great, but I became frustrated when she didn’t ask obvious questions of Penn. By the time she meets him she is a force to be reckoned with as the head of a major corporation and wealthy heiress. Yet outside of her business, she seems to not make choices that are consistent with someone of her position or wealth. Lack of communication as a plot device is something I have trouble with.

An the end, though, I was hooked by what happened. That cliffy is a hefty one, but it lends me hope that the next one will be Dark. Plus, with Penn, I get my enigmatic alpha male. So, I will definitely be reading book 2 to find out what happens next.

View all my reviews

pepper-winters

About the Author

Pepper Winters wears many roles. Some of them include writer, reader, sometimes wife. She loves dark, taboo stories that twist with your head. The more tortured the hero, the better, and she constantly thinks up ways to break and fix her characters. Oh, and sex… her books have sex.

She loves to travel and has an amazing, fabulous hubby who puts up with her love affair with her book boyfriends.

STALK Pepper: Website | Pinterest | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Goodreads

 

