Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Title: Ruckus
Series: Sinners of Saint #2
Author: L.J. Shen
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: May 26, 2017

“This series is one of the best I’ve read all year”Angie, Angie’s Dreamy Reads

“LJ Shen delivers and then some. I am loving this series.”Kylie Scott New York Times Bestseller

“It’s unpredictable, raw, emotional, and edgy- pure chaos contained in a beautiful package.”TJ Loves Books

“LJ Shen just wrote her best love story ever!” DD’s Boom Room

Rosie
They say that life is a beautiful lie and death a painful truth. They’re right.
No one has ever made me feel more alive than the guy who serves as a constant reminder that my clock is ticking.
He is my forbidden, shiny apple.
The striking fallacy to my blunt, raw, truth.
He is also my sister’s ex-boyfriend.
One thing you should know before you judge me;
I saw him first. I craved him first. I loved him first.
Eleven years later, he waltzed into my life, demanding a second chance.
Dean Cole wants to be my bronze horseman. My white knight has finally arrived. Hopefully, he isn’t too late.
Dean

They say the brightest stars burn out the fastest. They’re right.
She sets my mind on fire.
All smart mouth, snarky attitude and a huge heart.
In a world where everything is dull, she shines like fucking Sirius.
Eleven years ago, fate tore us apart.
This time, I fucking dare it to try.
Getting to her is a battlefield, but man, that’s why they call me Ruckus.
Rosie LeBlanc is about to find out how hard I can fight.
And conquering her will be the sweetest victory.

5 out of 5 ‘Dean-effing-Cole’ Stars

I want to start this review with a holy mother!! Or ‘what the hell just happened’! But honestly, none of those things would do this book any justice. It’s not just Dean and Rosie’s story. It’s intense and uplifting but then throws you down to the ground without warning creating little cracks in your super strong armour. Then as you continue to devote yourself to this story (because you really can’t do anything less than that) those cracks fill with warm ooey-gooey madness that threatens your entire emotional system. This book-this story was a-maz-ing!!!!

I know this is going to sound weird but I loved that Rosie had a chronic illness. So many people have chronic illnesses and those people are (most times) unintentionally written off as ‘dead person walking’ by friends and family; most of which don’t really understand what the person is going through. Rosie had drive and determination to prove to her family that she could live a semi-normal life without be coddled and swaddled in fifty thousand sheets of bubble wrap. It’s those people, the people who have a will to live, that can defy the odds. Rosie defied more than the odds.

Dean. Oh lawd, Dean. While I thought Dean was going to be super douchey like Vicious, I was pleasantly surprised to find that he not only wasn’t at all like Vicious, but seriously fucked up in his own way. There was no way, NO WAY, that I or anyone could have been prepared to deal with Dean’s past and how it intersected with his present. I. Did. Not. See. That. Coming. Like, at all. Not even a little bit. But it explained soooooooo much. It explained why Dean sought refuge in the arms of alcohol, drugs and many, many faceless women. And even though I’m not a huge fan of books that flip back and forth between past and present….This story. This story NEEDED to be told this way. I honestly cannot see it any other way. The way it was done? It filled in so many gaps, in not only Dean and Rosie’s story but Dean and Millie and Vicious and Millie and blah blah blah you get it.

Emotional roller coaster doesn’t even begin to describe the battlefield that my emotions have gone through. Laughing and crying and swooning and anger. There’s more, I know there’s more. But once I started reading this it was extremely difficult to devote too much time to anything else. I just NEEDED to know. With that I am just a little bit grateful that I have some time to recover before Trent’s story comes along but on the flip side I’m disappointed that I have to wait too. (Geez, I’m not easy to please or anything.) But I’ll still have memories of Dean “Ruckus” Cole to keep me warm until Trent comes along to blaze it up. And even though I finished this story a while ago, I still think of it from time to time. And that my friends, is how it should be.

Happy Reading!!

L.J. Shen resides in sunny California with her husband, son, chubby cat and wild, wild dreams.Her passion is to write badass stories, sushi, UFC and her awesome family and friends (not in this order, though. Obviously, sushi comes before writing. Oh, and also the family part.)

She spend the first half of her twenties traveling the world and is now paying all the fun with extra shifts in front of her MacBook. Feel free to contact her on her Facebook page. She loves to hear from her readers.


HOSTED BY:

